About Us

Modernians Hockey Club (Mods) is a family based inner-city club established in 1932 as an ex-student and associated club for Perth Modern School. We share the sphinx logo and the colours with the school.

We welcome men, women and children from 4 to 84 years of age and have an active social environment.

Our clubrooms are located at Charles Veryard Reserve, Bourke Street, North Perth.


Life Members

L. Stinton 1962 L. Mullings 1981
*C. Campbell 1962 *T. OReilly 1981
*R. Menzies 1962 *J. Moulton 1984
*A. Cummins 1967 D. Gulland 1987
W. Byfield 1968 *G. Leeks 1988
*M. Adams 1969 M. Havercroft 1990
B. Bellon 1969 B. Mullings 1990
P. Whitlock 1970 D. Sanders 1996
C. Nicholas 1972 R. Maley 2000
J. DeLaeter 1974 E. Underwood 2004
A. Scott 1978 I. Hicks 2007
W. Crompton 1979 R. Sanders 2007
T. Mullings 1980 G. Shepherd 2007
I. Biddle 1981 G. Kirkaldy 2011


Perpetual Trophies

President’s Trophy
Junior Management Committee Presidents
Ian Hicks Trophy for Women’s Best and Fairest
Hardwicke Trophy for Women’s Leading Goal Scorer
Mullings’ Medalist for Men’s Best and Fairest
Terry O’Reilly Trophy Leading Goal Scorer
Jarryd Higgins Award for Best Junior into Seniors
75th Anniversary Legends -2005

Our Sponsors

LD Total

Club Member: Michael Gottschalk
Commercial and residential landscaping projects from Perth to Bunbury.

Leederville Dental

Club Member: Janine Finnie & Richard Kozlowski
Family dental clinic based Scarborough Beach road in Mount Hawthorn for general and sedation dentistry.

Field Work Health

Physio, Chiro and Massage

Hockey International

Club Committees

Senior Committee

Steph Syme
Mobile: 0418 988 128
Email: president@modernianshockey.org

Jordan Healy
Mobile: 0410 001 634
Email: treasurer@modernianshockey.org

Secretary / Senior Registrar
Tameka Brown
Mobile: 0427 345 920
Email: secretary@modernianshockey.org

Men’s Coordinator
Tom Jockel
Mobile: 0433 722 455
Email: mens@modernianshockey.org

Women’s Coordinator
Beth Cleary
Mobile: 0400 587 858
Email: womens@modernianshockey.org

Master’s Coordinator
Michael Gottschalk
Mobile: 0417 935 504
Email: masters@modernianshockey.org

Club Manager
Damon Diletti
Mobile: 0415 451 372
Email: clubmanager@modernianshockey.org

Social Coordinator
Caitlin Wyatt
Mobile: 0409 089 409
Email: social@modernianshockey.org

Sponsorship Coordinator
Jonathan Ellery
Mobile: 0412 659 039
Email: sponsorship@modernianshockey.org

General Committee Members
Janine Finnie

Junior Committee

Simon Ellery
Mobile: 0437 157 688
Email: juniorpresident@modernianshockey.org

Jo Monaghan
Email: juniortreasurer@modernianshockey.org

Michelle Scholz
Email: juniorregistrar@modernianshockey.org

Manager’s Coordinator
Cameron Brook
Email: coordinator@modernianshockey.org

Delphine Hunter

Nicole Wreford

J3/4 Coordinator
Kylie Petrou

General Committee Members
Clare Jongeling
Janine Finnie

Narrogin Coordinator
Phil Sarich
Email: modsnarrogin@gmail.com

The junior committee is made up of volunteer parents and senior players.


Men’s and all juniors except 9/10 and 11/12 Girls
Women and Junior 9/10 and 11/12 Girls

Where to get it

At our clubrooms on Thursday afternoon / evening during the hockey season. 

Junior Uniform Co-ordinators: Tamara & Nyree
Email: tamarablow@hotmail.com 

Alternative Strip

When we are second named on the card and we play against teams that have the same colour shirts or socks as us it is our responsibility for us to wear our alternate strip. Our alternative strip is a yellow shirt and yellow socks.  It is helpful to always carry the alternate socks in your kit bag.

A list of the various club colours is available here so you can check to see if there is likely to be a clash.